Honda Unicorn 150cc review

The year 2009 seems to be the bike season, and the two-wheeler market has seen various bike manufacturers rolling out their variants in full throttle to say the least.

Despite the global recession the two-wheeler market boom comes as a huge surprise, especially in India. Honda Motorcycle and Scooter India (HMSI) had launched their first variant of Honda Unicorn bike in the year 2005 and now they have remodelled the entire design of the vehicle keeping in mind the Indian roads, and they are mainly targeted towards the young bike enthusiasts.

Honda Unicorn 150

The new Honda Unicorn India is a product by the global Research and Development team of the Honda.

The Unicorn 150cc did not have an electric start during its launch, but last month saw the bike with the essential modification and upgrade to say precise. No wonder the Unicorn 150cc is an answer to Pulsar 150cc, Apache RTR-Fi and Suzuki GS 150R.

So how does Honda Unicorn look like?
The body of the Honda Unicorn 150cc has got a sporty yet a sleek look. The aerodynamic body lining enhances the style of the bike. The 150cc Honda comes with a cool meter console that indicates the speed as well as other riding specifications.



The Unicorn 150cc has the Honda logo adhered on the tank with a three-dimensional format giving a classy look. The specially designed gearshift gives a great control to the toes. The alloy wheels and the front disc brakes offer a pleasurable riding experience.

The new Honda Unicorn bike comes with a unique mono-suspension on the diamond frame, which promises to provide a smooth riding experience and on any road condition. The new handlebar weight adds but to the greater stability and control of the bike. The tuff-up tube in the rear tyre is puncture resistant that offers a hassle-free ride. The tail lamps and the body graphics enhance the aesthetics of the Unicorn 150cc.

Engine and performance of the new Honda 150cc bike
The new Honda Unicorn bike is powered by a 4-stroke 150cc engine that delivers an output of 13.3bhp at 8000rpm. The 150cc bike is also equipped with constant value, pulse exhaust system, offset crank and a two-way air jacket. The multi-mapping CDI, roller rocker arm and the five-speed gears increase the performance of the bike.

Handling and comfort
The Honda Unicorn 150cc has a few flip sides to its credit such as the clutch actuation that makes it hard while actually shifting the gears. The feature of the mounted central shocker is almost wasted, as the performance of the bike blocks the rider from making use of this plus point. The easy primary kick is an added advantage though and the mono shock absorbers help to give a smooth ride even on bad roads. The seats are wide enough and comfortable, and the foot space is decent to enable you to cruise through comfortably even on a long journey.

Price and colour availability options
The Honda Unicorn 150cc is priced between Rs 55,000-65,000 and the bike is available in black, candy blazing red, champion blue metallic, geny grey metallic and forced silver metallic all contemporary and extremely appealing. The new unicorn has a lot competition in the Indian market with advanced features and almost similar price range that can actually its success. But Honda should only hope and wish that the bike's brand name should help the variant selling good in the market.

Written by .
Last updated on 07-12-2016. Published on 02-09-2009.
Published by Bikes4Sale in category Reviews
Rate this Review :
3.0/5 (1 vote)

Add Your Comment
Name:

Comment:

203 Enter the numbers here:


Latest Comments

this bik gives good mileage and looks like sporty but meter should b digital
By on 15-10-2009
Yes. This is a good bike. Only problem I face is when it comes to servicing.
Most of the time i have felt that they just wash the bike and do the oil cahnge. I have faced many problems each time i finish my servicing. 1st service i didnt feel any problems. 2nd service - the mono shock effect was missing, Suspention was rough. Apart from that my rear tire used to drag outward when taking a curve. 3rd service - My front disc pad was not alligned properly.
By on 03-11-2009
I want to buy unicorn bt some friends say to buy the Pulsar,i m realy confused pls suggest me which is better
By on 11-01-2010
Dude go for Honda Unicorn it is the best bike in available in Indian Market. U will never regret
By on 21-01-2010
ENIKKU ISHTAPPETTA BIKE UNICORN THANNE AANU.
ENTE SOPNATHIL POLUM UNICORN BIKE AANU.
NALLA JOLI KITTIYAL NJAN BIKE VEDIKAM. ANNU BIKE NIRTHALAKKI ENNONNUM PARAYARUTHE......
BIKE VEDIKAN VEETIL PANAM ILLA ENNU ENIKKARIYAM ENNALUM KINAVU KANALO.


Kayyil Panam Illathavanu kinavenkilum kanalo?

9946238379
By on 26-02-2010
is it true that milege of honda unicorn is actually 30-35 kmpl.....??

i m planning to buy unicorn but when i heard that insted of 60, it delivers 35 kmpl.... i got shocked......i m totally confused......

is it true...?

i would appreciate if u guys help me......!!!!
pls let me know as soon as possible......coz as u guys should know that honda unicorn delivery takes 2 monts.....i hv to book it before 2 months.....!!

thank u.....

piyush panchal
By on 12-04-2010
Michael പറഞതൊട് ഞാന്‍ യോജികുണു Honda unicorn തണെയാണ് ഏറ്റവും നല്ല് വണ്‍ടി
By on 15-04-2010
No this not true unicorn in city have about 50-60 km/l ,I live in a village region its full of bad roads and stiff clifs but still get more than 50km/l even these condition and the performance is superb,so go for the unicorn.
By on 15-04-2010
No this not true unicorn in city have about 50-60 km/l ,I live in a village region its full of bad roads and stiff clifs but still get more than 50km/l even in these condition and the performance is superb,so go for the unicorn.
By on 15-04-2010
Unicorn is the best.
But i think HONDA is going to stop the production
By on 17-05-2010
I planned to buy 2 nos new unicorn bike for my self and for my brother,
i want to known how much milage it gives. if your answer is >50 then i will plan to buy. and how it will perform.
By on 10-07-2010
vishnup902y
By on 25-08-2010
I AM A UNICORN HOLDER . ITS THE BEST BIKE FOR LONG DRIVES IN INDIA
By on 25-08-2010
Iam planning 2 buy unicorn 150. Iam in chennai. am a family man... Suggest me which bike is best mileage and performance.. my age is 27,weight is 85, height 180... cost <70,000. please give me suggestion....
By on 19-11-2010
go for unicorn it is the best bike for indian roads... U will feel it when u buy it
By on 23-11-2010
I wont to buy the unicorn bike but the company stop production of it.tell me when it start I am dying to buy the bike
By on 17-12-2010
Dude I have unicorn frm last 8 months I use to heavy travel weekly 500-600 kms, my uni gives me 63 mileage on highway but speedlimit should not exceed to more than 55-60 if exceed 60 then your mileage will get down to 45-50 if you drive @ 80+ your mileage would be 35 and@ 40 speedlimit 56-58 in rush drive.
Apart from mileage I would like to add my experience
uni never get vobble on highway although a 15 tons loaded container passes u @100+ speed.
Braking is also excellent but bike should weard only'MRF ZAPPER NYLOGRIP' tyre which help to wellgripping @ braking & Zigzag turns I love uni
Keep riding !!
DjY
By on 25-12-2010
Honda.........Unicorn Is A Superb Bike......Even In Engine And Looks........Evrything Is Good In It.........Pulsar,Apache Are Waste In Front Of It
By on 27-01-2011
It's 1 year since I've purchased unicorn.

Mileage: Highest around 65 kmpl, riding single, on a highway, maybe a little less but certainly above 60. I was surprised. I ride mostly within 30-50 kmph range and rarely reach 60 or above.
Lowest 38 kmpl, riding 2 people at the time of Diwali in traffic jam conditions, braking & accelerating continuously.
Comfortable, awesum pickup, handling is nice and low sound, smooth engine... I'll give 9/10.
By on 14-05-2011
My Unicron....is almost 3 years old...am getting about 45-50Kmpl in city conditions. The engine will be much much smoother if shell petrol is used.
Do not want to compare with Pulsar.
By on 13-02-2012
I have purchased unicorn 150 cc. My height is 5.2ft and am finding it difficult to control the weight of the vehicle. Is it possible to reduce the height of the vehicle by altering the monosuspensions or the seat. please suggest me as I have to travel 40 km every day. My age is 49 and so a bit scared to use this vehicle in the present form.
By on 03-04-2015
I want 150cc unicorn black in Honda showrooms in india
By on 01-01-2016
iwant unicorn bike low cost please call me my no 7386582102 lives in tirupati
By on 18-05-2016