TVS Flame SR 125cc Review

The new TVS 125cc Flame seems to be the new and flaming bike talked about in the bike circles as well as the hot bike currently on the Indian roads.

In this cycle of economic slowdown and recession, TVS Motor Company has decided to keep the sales number clocking by unveiling new launches and one of them is the TVS 125cc Flame model. This particular new-commuter bike will be available under the brand name TVS Flame SR 125.

The positioning of the 125cc bike segment is quite crucial to tap the market potential. The entry level bike enthusiasts would settle down for 100cc engine and to get the feel of high performance will graduate to a 150cc bike. So, where are 125 cc bike markets? It is here that the manufacturers are coming with different marketing strategies and so throwing feature-packed models to enthuse the new-age bikers; a win situation for the consumers.

Just a redesign of the bike with a bigger engine will not be the solution and it is here that TVS Flame SR 125 enters the market with host of exciting features beside enhanced performance.

Look of the bike:

In one word it is stunning with amazing colors of scarlet red, elite blue and mica black. The TVS Flame SR 125 sports stylish headlamps and embedded signal lamps. The theme is black and edgy as far as the design and look of the bike is concerned.



It has been known that the design of this bike is inspired by delta wing design that is in the fighter jets. So, the company has adopted a triangular design theme for its model. On the either side of the fuel tank, the bike sports sharp-styled faux scoops and even the mudguard points edgy. Ergonomics is comfortable even for a tall rider. The bike is equipped with handle bars that are matt finished and alloy grab rails and wheels. The bike also boasts of backlit digital console system, dual lens tail light and on-storage facility through a gadget boot.

Engine:
First time, in the 125cc segment you have a bike that is propelled by three valves. The engine is based on CC-VTi (Controlled Combustion-Variable Timing Intelligent) technology providing with perfect blend of awesome power with latest technology. This kind of engine ensures great pick up and optimum mileage. To make city riding experience smooth, this new technology engine has proved its mettle.

TVS Flame

Handling and Performance:
The new Flame comes loaded with widest rear tires in the segment that are intended to provide with greater on-road stability. Then there is the mill that can deliver maximum power of 10.5bhp at revolutions of 7500 per minute. The engine of the new TVS Flame 125cc bike comes equipped with two ports namely the power port and the swirl port. With perfect swirling of the air-fuel mixture in the combustion chamber, the power port opens up allowing high flow rate of air-fuel mixture thereby improving the bike's overall fuel efficiency. Flame comes with an electric start and the kerb weight of the bike is 123 kg and the top speed that Flame achieves is 95kmph.

The flip side with Flame; however, is that as the bike speeds over and above 75kmph, too much of vibrations are felt at the foot pegs and handle bars that become quite nervy and distracting to the rider.

On road pricing
The new TVS Flame SR 125cc is available in two variants; one with disc brakes and other with drum brakes. For the drum-brake version, the cost is Rs.45, 000 (ex-showroom Chennai) and for the disc brake variant you need to pay Rs.48, 000.


Written by .
Last updated on 09-05-2012. Published on 03-07-2009.
Published by Bikes4Sale in category Reviews
Rate this Review :
0.0/5 (0 votes)



Latest Comments

look is nat well
By on 19-07-2009
I don't like this bike. So I will go for another one.
Pls try to improve the model
By on 29-07-2009
Ha Ha Ha . you funny.
This is super good look.
By on 30-07-2009
this is good but wats the average of the bike
By on 11-08-2009
Milage is obout 70kmpl........i thing looks are also Superb......
By on 24-08-2009
yy u dont like this modle.....??
By on 24-08-2009
Ithink looks are superb......it have 3 valves so it also gives super power
By on 24-08-2009
i bought this waste bike no pickup,gearing is not that much good.
By on 22-09-2009
it dont have power no pickup it will cross max of 70
By on 22-09-2009
looks amzing.
By on 04-10-2009
Never marry a girl because of her beauty, Bike is really a hell.Bought by paying ready cash last year,now trying to sale but scrap people does not want it-- that is TVS Flame.
By on 21-10-2009
Hey guys, I was one of the first buyers of this bike in India... I tell it has given great returns for the money I paid for it, superb looks, great stability even on the worst tracks, I have driven this bike in every condition and I have no complains, except for, it is a bit heavy at the bakside and pickup is not the best in the segment.
I don't know about the new flames that have been launched!
By on 02-11-2009
I thing you have cataract.
By on 14-12-2009
its look is super bt after 3 month its accelereter becomes very hard
By on 08-03-2010
till first servicing it will give u 50km/litre bt after 2 servicing its mileage increases 60-65km/litre
By on 08-03-2010
look is well as well as superb new features are there in this bike. i am having the joy of riding this superb n sporty looking bike. i have purchased TVS flame in dec26,2009 on my birthday.........
By on 29-05-2010
hey its a sporty look and i like its look .the old mans didnt like it its for youth
By on 03-06-2010
bhanu u need to get ur bike serviced i think
tujhe pata nhi hai ki bike ki care kese karte hai,.............
mere pass flame oct 2009 se hai ......700 to 80 milage deti hai .
100-110 tak bhagti hai..........stylish hai.........ek 125cc bike ko tum ninza to bana nahi sakte ho yar...............iss segment ki baki bikes se bahut behatar hai ye bike best of all of them.......kk bro!Q
By on 11-06-2010
A useless bike and a failure model
By on 10-08-2010
hi frndz.. i used dis bike since july'08... tvs flame 1st addition. and i luv it..
it is too cool n smarti bike.. avg giving around 70km/l and normly touch on 100km/ph
By on 29-08-2010
BHANU good comment. i bought this bike 08.01.2010. my birthday gift from my lover. this is milage is only 40km/lit. cluth and gear is very very waste. totaly this is waste. i have purchaed new PULSAR 220.
By on 17-09-2010
VERY VERY WORST BIKE. per day complaints this bike.
By on 17-09-2010
abe tu 125cc ke bike ko usse jada c ke bike se compare karega to kuch bhi acha nahi lagega ye sahi bat hai i purches tvs flame sr 125 on 28 nov, 2009
me mere bike ko time to time servies karvata hu or meri bike 70 ka avrege deti he ek hi problem he ki speed 95 ke upar nahi jata bas or me sirf in city hi nahi to on highway per 250 km at long as time run kiyi he or me har roj 130 km ka jake vapas tata hu to bhi mujhe ye bike achi he teri 220 to meri fad degi samjha
By on 01-04-2011
yaro ye bike kabhi mat lena . warna pachtaaoge
By on 16-07-2011
super
and performance is also super. i have the bike.............!
By on 28-07-2011
bike look very sexyyyyyyyyyyyyy flame ante f***
By on 07-08-2011
2009 ki TVS Flame bike kitne mekharidni chahiye... please help
By on 30-08-2011
hai i have flame sr125 since oct 2009 runs 14786 kms.
it gives 64kmpl, top speed 102 kmpl, no parts wants to be changed till now.
only problem is it makes noise at high speed.
By on 14-09-2011
it gives 40mileage
By on 19-01-2012
I LOVE MY FLAME Is that KING OF MY CITY RACING...
By on 25-10-2014
The tvs flame is a top speed 95 km speed but this look very very amazing in that erode district perundurai TN 56 A 2615 king of city & trafic thanku mr. Police Naveen
By on 17-11-2014
Hello sir tvs flame mileage 70 km realy deti hai plz anw
By on 14-09-2016