Hero Honda Hunk vs Bajaj Pulsar 150 cc DTSi - Comparison review

Two big names in the Indian biking scenario: Hero Honda Hunk and Bajaj Pulsar. Both these have taken the market by storm, while Hero Honda is a global name for being the leading bike manufacturer the Bajaj Auto is a top name in the Indian bike market scene. The very first thing that riders would associate with Hero Honda bike is their impeccable service and dependability and whereas the Bajaj bikes come up with novelty rather innovations and the Indian market has showered great love and regard for the Bajaj bikes.

The Indian market has a line up of bikes in the segment and they are a hit among the masses mainly because of their incredible performance with an affordable price tag. Bajaj's introduction of Pulsar 150 cc DTSi was an instant hit among masses as was expected by the market experts but soon the company felt the pinch of competition from the Hero Honda who launched the Hunk. This made the consumers a little indecisive when asked to pick one between the two bikes. Here is a brief analysis of the two bikes that will aid the bike buying prospects' decision.

If looks alone matter?
HH Hunk has an elegant yet a muscular looks, which kind of is an appealing factor. The front forks have golden touch whereas the central section gets a silver finish, and the other eye-catching feature is the butterfly-shaped headlight. But, Bajaj Pulsar stands apart in the style and looks thanks to the styling department. Pulsar's design was tweaked in Japan and it was given a rugged look with a huge fuel tank (that surely is a macho quotient anyone would vote for) and cool headlight. As to the tail end of the bike, it is much like the edge of a razor. Along with these distinct features Pulsar comes fitted with edgy (glitzy) electronic gadgets that will create quite an impression on the buyer. I would vote for pulsar for the looks although it's a factor that is subject to an individual's personal choice that may quite vary.

Hero Hunk

Engine, performance, handling and mileage are those things that really matter for a biker
Bajaj Pulsar bears the 150 cc DTSi engine and generates a power of 14.09 Ps @ 8500 rpm and the maximum torque is around 12.76 Nm at 6500 rpm. While Hunk also has a 150cc engine but the power out put is slightly higher than that of Pulsar, it is 14.2 Ps @ 8500 rpm and torque is 12.98 Nm @ 6500 rpm. Despite the engine in the Pulsar is smooth the bike emits a lot of noise at top speed whereas Hunk does not produce any vibration even if the bike is zooming at 80 kmph.



Because of the DTSi technology used in the Pulsar the throttle response seems to be pretty good and it is not bad in Hunk too. But the gearbox needs to be tweaked in Pulsar. The five speed gearbox in the Hunk helps in the effortless gear shifting and in fact even the clutch is pretty smooth. The Pulsar is fitted with disc brakes but one needs to be careful while applying them as they are quite sensitive and applying the front brakes too quickly might trigger loss of balance. HH Hunk has disc brakes but they are well equipped to suit the Indian roads. And this is where Pulsar lags behind and Hunk scores better.

As we know that Pulsar is a bit nosier and with age the noise produced by the bike becomes more evident but Hunk seems to be better in this regard. Pulsar gets heated up once the bike touches a speed level of 60 kmph and while riding Hunk you need not worry of the vehicle getting heated, as it will remain cool even at great speed. In terms of comfortable riding, Pulsar does give a comfortable ride but the pillion rider might complain a bit while in Hunk the cushioned seats offer great comfort especially if you plan a long ride.

Bajaj Bajaj Pulsar 150 DTSi

Hunk scores greater points in terms of fuel efficiency as well. If you are riding in the city you can expect it to give 55-60 kmpl and on highways it could be around 65 kmpl which is very neat. Pulsar gives around 45-50 kmpl on bumper-bumper traffic conditions while on the highways you can squeeze arund 52-55 kmpl, which also depend on the kind of a rider you are; ride smooth and expect better mileage.

Color and Price
The Pulsar 150 cc DTSi comes in colors of plasma blue, cocktail wine red, misty grey silver and midnight black with an on-road price of Rs 68,000.

The Hunk is available in four color choices of black, red, silver and blue with an on-road price tag of Rs 65,000.

Final Word
Hunk gets outscored by Pulsar only in the looks department (you can well ignore looks in my opinion) otherwise it is Hunk that scores better in other aspects such as performance, quality, handling, comfortable on long rides, dependability and hassle free maintenance. And it obviously gave competition a run for money to stay superior in the Indian market, more so in the 150 cc segment. In fact it's the most modern bike by many parameters in the 150cc segment.

Written by .
Last updated on 12-12-2016. Published on 29-06-2011.
Published by Bikes4Sale in category Comparisons
Rate this Review :
0.0/5 (0 votes)



Latest Comments

Hunk all the way..................
By on 25-07-2011
i feel hunk is better
By on 29-07-2011
i love pulser
By on 31-07-2011
i feel hunk is better than pulsar
By on 16-08-2011
Pulsar have no subtitute
By on 20-08-2011
I used Pulsar for 5years. 1st two years its good to ride after that it is a worst bike. ask for more maintenance and engine sounds more. so I'm planning to buy hunk. its a great bike frm hero Honda. engine is very soft
By on 22-08-2011
Exactly. Pulsar engine is very rough compare to hunk. hunk engine is butter smooth
By on 22-08-2011
ofcourse hunk
By on 18-10-2011
pulsar no comment
By on 13-12-2011
hunk logo ki pasand pulsar
By on 13-12-2011
Considering the frequent rise in fuel , mileage plays a great role,if u go for look hunk is best ,but mileage very poor 34-37 not even 40, its not rumour ,i have friends having these bikes .all they complain about is mileage. While pulsar gives 40-42.in city
By on 24-01-2012
Its Pulsar not Pulser
By on 01-02-2012
pusar is bettr
By on 08-02-2012
Hunk is better than pulsar
By on 14-02-2012
Hunk always best
By on 14-02-2012
i am using new hunk. i feel good on its performance and mileage is 52.
By on 19-02-2012
hunk is alllways mass
By on 19-02-2012
I m planing to buy a bike today...was looking for hunk frm hh. reviews n response are quite good, comparison wid pulsar is distinct n keepin me away..sry bajaj
By on 20-02-2012
hunk is 1000000000..............time better than pulsar
By on 26-02-2012
R u using hunk
By on 28-02-2012
hunk is best i had research for new bike from Tvs Rtr 160 gives u back problem RTR 180 no average ,Honda cb unicorn really worst starting on morning every day u hav to give choke for at least 4 minutes ,Hero CBZ extreme good bike but not having good looks + comfort as hunk, Bajaj pulsar worst to maintain
By on 28-02-2012
Ya its r8 dat hunks good. Bt it dont have as cathy colour as pulsar. If a new hunk with more modification with awesome glassy colour bieng released then it would leave pulsar far behind . May hero moto cop. try for this... Coz i'm planning 2 buy....
By on 03-03-2012
Hunk is the mass bike in 150cc segment.
Its muscle look will attract girls while seeing the bike immeadiately.
It has a great mileage,power,etc
i love hunk....
Hero honda dhak dhak go...
By on 04-03-2012
HUNK is best
By on 06-03-2012
i lv my Hunk
By on 07-03-2012
hunk is more heavy than pulsar so u will feel really hunk is a 150 bike while driving and its ur choice to go with whom
By on 09-03-2012
wht should i buy pulser or hunk for geting better milage
By on 16-03-2012
Going to take Hunk today
By on 17-03-2012
i have to like pulsar bcz pulsar is the mass in the chennai,allover the tamilnadu youngstor using only pulsar and then bajaj is the best engine and service holders in the world...................
By on 31-03-2012
I Decided To Buy A Hero Honda Hunk .DHAK DHAK GO
By on 02-04-2012
but stupid peopl still goin wid pulsr.. :-D i hv new hunk .. damn smooth .. n givin mileage of 45 in city..
By on 06-04-2012
welL,m guin for hunk finally.............n u??
By on 18-04-2012
i love pulsar bcz pulsar sports bkeeee
By on 24-04-2012
Buddy, I guess they are really bad drivers. I'm also a bad driver at times. I own a hunk for more than a year. On an "insane" drive within the city she has never gone less than 40 KMPL. :) But on an insane drive I love my bike for performance and handling.. ;)
By on 28-06-2012
Agreed. I get more than 45 in City.. ;)
By on 28-06-2012
hunk is much better than pulsar
By on 03-07-2012
da best bike is Harley-Davidson....................go for it
By on 05-07-2012
Pulsar may be pioneer in many aspects of modern biking. There is no denying this fact. But after more than 10 years of its release, it has begun to show age. Hunk is better looking and better or at par in every feature. I like pulsars a lot. But I can beat a P150 on my hunk any friggin' day.

Respect to pulsar.
By on 17-08-2012
You can't know how we will feel. I am slightly on the heavier side (78 kg) and I can literally carve the road with my hunk.
By on 17-08-2012
U should know that....
Hero Honda is better in reliability..
Pulsar in top speed......p220 has top speed of 141km/hr compare 2 karizma 135km/hr....in its segment.
Tvs in light weight(rtr160is135 kg ,whereas pulsar & hunk almost same147kg) better in city ride...
Yamaha...in technology..
Royal enfield in power...350cc produces 28-32nm at 3000-4000rpm
....
By on 22-08-2012
guys...I want to buy a 150cc Bajaj pulsar or Herohonda hunk...if you're using or used those bikes....please suggest me...which is better....I'm looking forward to your reply...
By on 03-09-2012
my all friends have pulsar all the modles i drive pulsar allot one day i drive hunk surprisigly the performance of hunk is very fine than pulsar 150 &180 so i buy hunk i reach 125kmph on road which is better than pulsar ever
By on 21-09-2012
such a bouring bike for drive & looks & performance
By on 21-09-2012
i agree
By on 21-09-2012
I think HUNK is better than pulsar
so, my overall choice is HUNK
By on 22-10-2012
Hunk is better than pulsar im useing hunk
By on 23-10-2012
My bike 3 year old but no mentions
I LOVE HERO HONDA HUNK
By on 25-10-2012
Pulsar is indias no.1 sports bike
By on 15-11-2012
Agar hero honda ki kisi bike ne pulsar ko hara diya na to me meri pulsar bech k hero honda le lunga its my challenge.......!
By on 15-11-2012
Hey guyz..i m planning to buy pulsar 150 or hunk..
Which is better pls suggest...

Waiting for ur comments..
By on 17-11-2012
ask any owner of both bikes after 2 yrs whether they like their bike or not-will tell you clear answer.my friend is ruing the day he bought pulsar.how hard u try neutral will be trouble.always asking for maintenance.wanted me to buy his bike.sorry i can't buy a faltoo bike.as to hunk it may be having its own set of problems like being very heavy,tough to manouever but still it is better than pulsar.resale value of a 3 yr old model of both will tell you the real story.even if being priced higher than hunk,it commands lower price.so pulsar biker must be a fool to sell at less price?no because he knows everybody knows worth of pulsar after few years.So if you want gizmos go for pulsar else if you want quality go for hunk
By on 26-11-2012
I am planing buy a bike my choices are bajaj pulser 180 or hero hunk which bike is best?pls help me?
By on 31-12-2012
hunk is funk..............................best is PULSARRRRRRRRRRR
By on 17-03-2013
To theek hai tumhari koi 150 .180.220 .jo bhi ho le aana for race my Honda cbr 250
By on 22-07-2013
hunk is awesome bike cmpr 2 other bike like look,wait,speed,mileage etc...
By on 24-07-2013
I like hunk bcos i trust. Their is no .. Tension about mileage , engine. Problem maintain. Etc etc cheap. N best. Atleat try it
By on 21-10-2013
I will buy bikes, plz suggest me frnd which one is best.
By on 04-07-2014
no pulsarr.......oonly hunk hunk only hunk
By on 10-07-2014
rule the road with pulsar...............rough engine protects rough road...........rule the road...............
By on 06-09-2014
my high speed 146 km/hr..........with my pulsar 150,,,,,,,,,,,unbelieveable ..........no???????????? chase me with ur 1......................vvvvvvrrrrrruuuuuu..........come on road babe...................contact me@ dellinspiron90@gmail.com.......
By on 06-09-2014
i am using hunk from 2012
i bought it again in 2013
again i bought it in 2015 hero honda last segment and last single stock
i got 45 in kolkata city and 55 in highways at 55 to 60kmpl
where as pulsar is the most worst bike in india.
after travelling 10000 km it makes noise from its engine
having a lot of problem with its gear
once its engine will open lots of problem will arise and never comes in an original mode
in one word pulsar is most ghatiya bike in india
By on 24-05-2015
I have to buy 150 cc bike. Which is best for allover hunk or pulsar 150 ? Help me to decide one.
By on 09-07-2016